Closing Down the Farm, For Good

It’s been about a month since the official farm work was finished. The fields are tilled and seeded with their winter cover crop. The tools are clean and put away. Already this past growing season seems so far away. It feels like it’s been longer than a month and a half since the last farmers market and CSA box. Strange.

Many of you have already heard, but I wanted to make my announcement official for the internet. This will be (has been?) my last season farming Wild Goose Farm. This was not an easy nor a quick decision. Though I complained often, it has nothing to do with the crazy weather we had over the summer. I’ve decided that I want to get involved in education in sustainable agriculture. I am excited to teach others how to grow food and to do so in a way that improves our health and the health of the world around us. These years running my own farm have taught me so much. I am eager to share that with others.

So, it is time to say “Farewell” to Wild Goose Farm. It’s been a great adventure. One that has challenged me and taught me so much. I will miss the farmers markets and the CSA. I’ll miss writing a weekly blog post as well. I will miss the friendships I’ve forged through this experience. I couldn’t have run my farm without all of you! Thanks for the support and encouragement over the years. I’ve enjoyed sharing my farming adventure with you all.

May the road rise up to meet you.
May the wind always be at your back.
May the sun shine warm upon your face,
and rains fall soft upon your fields.
And until we meet again,
May God hold you in the palm of His hand.

Leave a comment