Potatoes are Blooming! CSA Week #2

A Farmer's View

A Farmer’s View

So much change happens on the farm and I am constantly caught off guard. This weekend I was moving my irrigation sprinklers around (a constant task this season!) and was shocked to see that a few of my potatoes had already begun to blossom. I think the flowers are so beautiful. The red potato plants have a lavender color while the yellow potatoes have a white flower. I can’t wait until they are all blooming and waving in the wind.

I’ve been caught off guard a lot these last two weeks. Not only are the potatoes blooming, but so are the zucchini, summer squash and cucumbers. Those were the pleasant surprises. I also discovered that about half of my garlic has rotted this year. It’s a mystery to me why. I do have a few theories, but that won’t change the fact of the loss. But don’t get too despondent! We’ve been harvesting the garlic that is still good and it has kept us busy! We will have garlic, just not all the variety I had hoped for.

Potato Blossom

Potato Blossom

But that’s the reality of farming. There are things that grow well and things that don’t. Each year is different and my role as a farmer seems to be more like a juggler than a puppet master who pulls all the strings.

Enjoy the box and happy eating!

What’s In the Box:

Beets- These beautiful red beets are among my favorite veggies. I love them boiled, or even better, roasted. Add a little butter and salt and they are amazing. The greens are edible too. Just saute them in olive oil with some garlic scapes and onions. Cut off the greens about an inch above the root and store in the fridge in a plastic bag. The roots can be stored loose in the veggie drawer.

Chard-a great dark leafy green that is high in vitamins A, E and C and iron and calcium. You can eat the bright colored stems too. Just be sure to add them to the pan a few minutes before the greens. Store in a bag with a damp cloth.

Fennel- this white root with the fern like leaves has a wonderful anise flavor. Try substituting it for celery and using the greens like dill. Store in a plastic bag in the fridge.

Lettuce- store in the fridge in a plastic bag with a damp towel

Cress- (in a pint box) a peppery leaf that is a wonderful garnish to salads and sandwiches.

Spinach- a 1/2 lb bag of some of the best early summer spinach I have ever grown! I’m so excited for having this two weeks in a row. Great in a salad with strawberries and walnuts. Store in a plastic bag with a damp towel.

Garlic Scapes- the garlic scape season has come and gone. This is the last of the garlic scapes. It caught me by surprise. Use like scallions for a great garlic flavor.

Scallions- Another round of these great little onions. Store in the fridge in a plastic bag with a damp towel.

Herb Mix- (in a pint box) a mix of garlic chives, sage, oregano and thyme! Add to any dish for a splash of flavor. Make a marinade by chopping herbs and mix them with olive oil, garlic, and salt and pepper to taste. Grilling anyone?

Recipes:

Roasted Beet and Fennel Salad-from foodandwine.com.

Orange and Fennel Salad– from foodnetwork.com

Gemelli with Sausage, Swiss Chard, and Pine Nuts– from Marthastewart.com

Crustless Swiss Chard Quiche- from food.com. add a few herbs from the herb mix to make an especially tasty dish.

One response to “Potatoes are Blooming! CSA Week #2

  1. I am so happy to see pics of the farm this year! Even though I am so very lucky and get to work on the farm every week, I think it is beautiful and never tire of seeing it in its glory! Thanks Meg, for another year of great opportunity! Cheers!

Leave a Reply

