Heat Wave on the Farm: Week #3

Well, here we are in mid July, oops I mean mid June! Last week the potatoes started blooming. Now I’ve discovered the eggplant, peppers, tomatoes, and cucumbers are blooming too! Life can move pretty fast on the farm, even in 90 degree weather. The farmer doesn’t move fast in this kind of weather though. We’ve continued with our farm tasks in spite of the heat, but not with much spring in our steps. Handweeding has become the favorite chore now, because that means we can sit down and still consider ourselves “working”. Usually I try to stay on my feet. I can hear the voice of a farmer I used to work for telling me over and over that if I sit down I’m going to work 20% slower than if I was standing or kneeling. I wonder where he got that statistic . . .

Anyway, on days like this I allow myself the luxury of sitting while picking out the weeds in the carrot beds. I figure the 20% decrease in efficiency is money well spent on a day in the mid 90’s and full sun.

We’ve got a few new things in the box this week; sugar snap peas, kale, dill and hot pink turnips! There are quite a few recipes below. I couldn’t make up my mind which to leave out so I just left them all in. Stay cool everyone!

What’s in the Box:

Sugar Snap Peas- They have had a hard time of it this spring, what with all the hot weather and being in the back corner of the farm. Yet here they are and wonderfully tasty! Check out the recipe below for a refreshing salad. Note: these are sugar snap peas so you can eat the whole thing, pod and all!

Kale- The superfood that everyone is talking about! There are many ways to eat this leafy green. A couple recipes are below. Also note that kale does well with bold flavors like italian sausage and parmesan cheese. It’s great sauted in olive oil with garlic and onions too.

Lettuce- Two smaller heads are in your box this week. Store in the fridge in a plastic bag with a damp paper towel.

Spinach- This is the last of the spinach until the fall! It’ll be great in your morning omelettes!

Dill- Such a refreshing herb which is perfect for this hot week. Just smelling it makes me feel a little cooler.

Napa Cabbage- A sweeter type of cabbage than the traditional kind. I love the salad recipe below. It’s quick, easy, and oh so tasty.

Scarlet Turnips- These bright pink turnips are more like radishes than their traditional fall cousins. No peeling or cooking required. Eat them raw with the dill dip below for a refreshing and slightly spicy snack.

Scallions- More of the ever useful and flavorful scallions. Farm trivia: On the farm I never refer to these as “scallions”, rather I call them “bunching onions” (to differentiate from bulb onions).

Recipes:

Salmon Burgers with Yogurt-Dill Sauce– from Marthastewart.com

Dill Dip in a Bread Bowl– from foodnetwork.com

Asian Chicken Noodle Salad– from bonappetit.com

Napa Cabbage Salad Recipe– from allrecipes.com

Stir Fried Pork with Napa Cabbage– from epicurious.com

Baked Kale Chips– from allrecipes.com

Kale and Toasted Walnut Pesto– from tastespotting.com

Leave a Reply

