Stop Me If You’ve Heard This One: Week #5

Hello and welcome to another hot week on the farm! I don’t mean to sound like a broken record, but geez it is hot! Ok, I just had to get that out of the way. I feel better now.

Seriously though, this heat and lack of rain is most of what I think about these days. I’ve even started changing some of my seeding and planting plans that I made way back in December and January. Back when I was planning for the perfect season and everything would germinate right on schedule and we would get an inch of rain each week, preferably at night. Suffice to say, plans need to change. I’ve put a hiatus on all seeding in the field until next week. It’s just too darn hot, and without rain (or enough irrigation) the seeds won’t germinate anyway. Don’t worry! That doesn’t mean the farm is stopping altogether. I’m just waiting for the cooler temps and I’m putting together some new sprinkler lines to accommodate for new plantings. The farm has been one week behind schedule before. It happens. Sometimes it’s just hard to let go of plans.

The tomato patch on the farm doesn’t seem to mind the heat and some dryness though. (It’s also one of the crops that gets watered regularly, no matter what. I do play favorites.) Dare I say it, the plants look lovely and there are green tomatoes all over the place. I’ve been busy tying up the plants so that they don’t drag on the ground. The cherry tomatoes have already been tied up three times. They grow so fast!

Now before you start salivating and dreaming of caprese salads (am I too late?). I must tell you that we’re still a few weeks away from tasty tomato goodness. How many weeks? I don’t know. Let’s hope for early August. Be patient. Good things come to those who wait. (Like tomatoes!)

Well, I need to run off and move some irrigation lines around. Hopefully I’ll remember to turn them off before I fall into bed tonight. Oh a farmer’s job is never done!

Enjoy the box!

What’s in the Box

Bok Choi– This is an Asian green with thick white ribs and green, spoon shaped leaves. It has a strong flavor that makes great stir fries!

Pearl Drop Onions– this small round/disc shaped onions are delicious. You can use these just like regular onions. They’re great for grilling (kabobs anyone?).

Spinach– Miracle of miracles, we are getting a little spinach in the midst of all this hot weather! I don’t know how it happened. It’s not a lot, but it’s tasty!

Savory– This is the spindly herb in your box this week. Savory is great with any meat, especially pork and poultry. It’s excellent rubbed onto meats before grilling. A little goes a long way so start off slow using it. You can hang it to dry in your kitchen if you’re not using it fast enough. I love this herb!

Salad Mix- this week’s salad mix has a strong flavor to it. You can thank the hot hot hot weather for that. It’s great with a creamy dressing, mmmh I’m thinking a creamy ceasar dressing will be just the thing!

Carrots– It took a little digging to get these suckers out of the ground, but man was it worth it! Snack on them raw or add in salads. Just enjoy!

Sugar Snap Peas– Last round of these dainties! I can’t believe how much these peas have produced with so little rain.

Gold Beets- These gold colored beets are fantastic! They are sweeter than the traditional red beets and they don’t bleed! Try roasting them on your grill wrapped in foil. They are so good!

Recipes

Grilled Country Ribs with Summer Savory Mustard Marinade– from epicurious.com

Stir Fried Bok Choy with Ginger and Garlic– from foodnetwork.com

Warm Golden Beet Salad– from thekitchn.com

One response to “Stop Me If You’ve Heard This One: Week #5

  1. Oh, my goodness!! So far, the golden beets have been my favorite from the box this week! I ended up roasted them with some of the pearl drop onions (along with olive oil, salt, pepper, and garlic salt) for about 50 minutes at 375 degrees. I followed the roasting instructions here: http://localfoods.about.com/od/preparationtips/ss/How-To-Roast-Beets.htm I could have eaten them all in one setting since they’re so tasty but I’ve been trying to savor them and had some right out of the oven, more today on top of a leafy green salad, and I still managed to save a few more for later. đŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

