Busy Bee on the Farm: Week #13

It’s been a busy busy week on the farm! The rain we’ve been having has put me a little behind schedule, but I am not complaining! So this week we’ve been running around transplanting lettuce, broccoli, and cabbage. Plus I’ve been hopping on the tractor any chance I get to do more tilling. Saturday was a long day since I had tilling and seeding to do on the tractor. But thankfully I was able to get it all done. Not to mention I had a class to prep for too. Whew!

Speaking of class prep, Sunday night found me sorting through my worm compost pulling out worms for class. I’ve got a worm bin of red wiggler worms that eat my kitchen scraps. It’s been fun to see them eat up the bits of veggies and turn them into worm castings (a fun way of saying worm poop!). These casting are great for putting on house plants or garden plants. I sometimes use them on my transplants before they go out into the field.

I was sorting through them Sunday night because this week’s class is all about making compost. The students have put together a few different types of worm bins, from the fancy store bought kind, to the scrounge around and find something that works kind. I have to admit the sorting was not fun. I think it was one of the most tedious things I have done in my life. It took me four hours to come up with a pound of worms! I hope those students appreciate my dedication!

Enjoy the box!

What’s in the Box:

Arugula– The first of the greens to return! And it’s some of the best looking arugula this season too! Try a beet and arugula salad, the flavors are amazing together.

Beets– Have you tried roasting these on the grill yet? Just wrap them up in foil with some olive oil and you have got yourself a yummy side dish.

Garlic– Did you know you can roast garlic? Cut the tops off and drizzle a tablespoon of olive oil over the whole head. Roast at 325 for 45 minutes and then spread on a baguette. So good!

Kale– Thanks to the cooler weather earlier this month the kale is really looking good. Try the kale chips (recipe below), they’re so good!

Parsley– More than a breath freshener parsley has a lot of vitamin C and adds a nice fresh flavor to any dish.

Peppers– You’ll get a mix of sweet peppers in the box this week. Enjoy the colors.

Scallions– These are zesty little onions if I do say so. We started tearing up at the end of harvesting them. They a packed with great flavor!

Tomatoes– Enjoy the colorful and flavorful tomatoes! This week you’ll get two kinds of heirlooms; Black Prince (a mahogany color) and Rose de Berne (a pink color). They’re two of my favorites. Enjoy!

Recipes:

Baked Kale Chips– from allrecipes.com

Sauteed Kale– from foodnetwork.com

Arugula Salad with Beets and Goat Cheese– from simplyrecipes.com

Grilled Flat Iron Steak with Chimichurri Sauce– from Kalynskitchen.com. This is a blog with pictures and the full recipe at the end.

Leave a Reply

