How do I Love September: Week 15

Oh September, how do I love thee? Let me count the ways . . .
These last few days on the farm have been glorious. I love the crisp cool breeze. I love the warm sun on my skin. I’ve been walking among my broccoli and cauliflower plants, and though I am impatient for their heads to appear, I still love them for their large and graceful blue-green leaves. I love that in September the sun is not so quick to rise and that soon I won’t have to get up so early to start the day. I love the apples that have arrived at the farmers markets. They are by far my favorite fruit. I love the smell of bonfires. I love making soups and the warmth and comfort I feel when eating them. I love the root vegetables we’ll soon be having, the rutabagas, turnips, celeriac, leeks, and squashes. (Ok winter squashes aren’t a root vegetable, but they go so well with the other roots.) I love that the weeds will soon be growing slower (just not yet). I love that the crazy pace of the farm will soon slow down (just not yet).  Ah, I love September.

It’s hard to believe that this is the 15th week of the CSA. Only 5 more weeks after this one! Be ready for more greens to show up as the season continues. We’ll also be getting more fall crops too, like turnips, cauliflower, celeriac, broccoli, radishes, and leeks. I’m hoping for the tomatoes to continue to the end of the month, but we’ll just have to see what the weather does. Now that we’re getting a more steady schedule of rain things are looking great on the farm. The only thing is that the grass is getting a little long. I’ve just gotten out of the habit of mowing! Hopefully, I’ll get things cleaned up a bit by the time of the picnic. Don’t forget, the picnic is on Saturday, September 22nd, from 12-3. Bring a dish to pass for the meal and we’ll spend some time checking out the fields. I don’t need an official r.s.v.p. with exact numbers of who is attending, but i would appreciate it if you would email me if you are planning to come. Thanks a lot! Hope to see you all there!

Enjoy the box!

What’s in the Box:

Pea Shoots– These greens with the heart-shaped leaves add a great pea flavor to salads and sandwiches.

Leeks– This member of the onion family has a wonderfully mild taste. The best way to wash leeks is to cut in half lengthwise and run cold water over the open sides. This will remove the soil that gets trapped in the many layers of the leek. Use the white and light green portions of the stalk.

Bok Choi– This leafy green is great in stir fries. It adds a nice zing and a great crunch!

Broccoli– Slowly but surely the broccoli is coming in. This cool weather is definitely appreciated by this veggie.

Tomato– Enjoy the colorful bounty!

Pepper– All the peppers, no matter what shape, are sweet ones. Again, enjoy the colors!

Garlic– Hopefully, your kitchen could use another round of this awesome, flavorful garlic! Don’t forget to brush your teeth!

Mesclun Mix– This is a mix of baby lettuce, arugula, and some mustard greens, so be ready for a lively mix of flavors!

Cilantro– I love this herb in anything, salads, salsas, soups.  Mmmmh what other dishes start with the letter “s”? Sautes, stir-fries, steak, swordfish, sandwiches, s-desserts.

Recipes:

Steak, Shiitake, and Bok Choy Stir Fry– from myrecipes.com

Italian Broccoli with Pepeprs– from tasteofhome.com

Linguine with Spicy Leek and Tomato Sauce– from epicurious.com. This recipe calls for plum tomatoes, but you can substitute the tomatoes in the box. Just chop up the tomatoes and let them drain for a while.

Chicken Tortilla Soup– from foodnetwork.com, by far one of my all time favorite soups!

Leave a Reply

